Choucroute charcuterie

Brest, October 6, 2012

Well here we are in Brest. I thought I wouldn’t be able to blog tonight, no Wifi. But no, here we are in our hostel accommodation, with Wifi. And who should be sitting opposite me at the table? No not Mr Ed, but L-from-French, typing furiously because she has a bit more time to write emails here than is afforded by a quick visit to MacDos after supermarket shopping.

We arrived in Brest at just after four, very long day on the train, but enjoyable. The trains are so good. Very warm welcome at the station! We sussed out some accommodation, and then sussed out L’s apartment. Very spacious after our doll’s house, I nearly got lost. Then dinner out, from which we’ve just returned.

Murray, you would’ve been proud of Mister Ed and L because they opted for the choucroute charcuterie. Mister Ed was stunned and amazed at how many helpings L managed. I was stunned and amazed at the amount they both packed away – as our waitress said when she brought the dish, it was enough for two or five. I had pasta, are we surprised? Well at least it wasn’t goat’s cheese salad.

L says hi team, she’s missing you all, and hoping that you’re working hard on your pronunciation.  I believe that, in addition to working hard herself (she started teaching last Monday), she’s also indulged in a bit of retail therapy. I’ll leave her to fill you in on the details, but I understand it has involved a jacket, boots, a top … but of course she did have a few days without her luggage.  I indulged in some minor retail therapy myself (with help from guess who) in the form of a French language game called Dobble. So, team French, be scared.

Tomorrow we see the (marine) sights of Brest with our new tour guide.

Leave a comment